Making Work~ Work for Me!

My work hours were changed from 7:00 – 3:30 with a 1/2 hour lunch to 8:00 – 5:00 with an hour lunch! Ouch! That threw me for a loop… since we eat at 6:00 … and now I don’t even get home until 5:30!

So … I decided to make this work schedule work for me …. Why not? It’s happening whether I like it or not. Instead of bitching and moaning about it … I focused my energy into getting more organized and learning new stuff! It’s working and that’s a bonus!

During my new 1 hour lunch I was all over Pinterest and YouTube learning how to make beaded hemp bracelets, getting ideas for my garden, and searching for time saving meal tips and recipes. I soon discovered ….. Freeze Ahead Slow Cooker Meals!

You prepare meals by dumping all the ingredients in a gallon freezer bag, squish it up, flatten and freeze. Thaw in the fridge the night before. In the morning dump it in the crock pot!

I picked out 4 recipes that sounded especially good… made my grocery list… then I was off to the store.

Hints and Tips:

Get all ingredients and items you’ll need and have ready on the counter …. measuring cups, spoons, freezer bags, spices, open the cans, prepared meats (washed, fat trimmed, etc). This will really save time… and that’s the point! I used a big plastic cereal container to hold the freezer bag upright to make it easier to dump all my ingredients in. Make sure you mark the bag first with name of meal, setting and time! After you get all the ingredients in the bag… squish it up to mix everything, squeeze out as much air as possible, flatten it, seal and freeze!! Make sure to freeze them separately before you stack them…. they won’t freeze evenly if stacked on top of each other. Take out of freezer to thaw over night in the fridge (this will also marinade the meat) .. and dump in slow cooker in the morning!

TA-DA! Supper will be ready when you get home!

The recipes made a FULL crockpot … so we had enough left over to freeze for another meal! Bonus!

So the moral of the story is … When life hands you lemons… make lemonade! Or learn to make Freeze Ahead Slow Cooker Meals

20140730-220523.jpg

Leave a Reply

