Meatloaf Recipe

I never thought I would use a recipe for meatloaf! But I don’t know how many times I’ve had great meatloaf … then not so great because I never made it the same way twice! Well …. duh! I finally found a great recipe that I’ve made several times & guess what? It’s ALWAYS great! BTW … this recipe makes 2 loaves, so you can freeze one for later!

Meat Loaf 400 1 hour

2 lbs ground chuck
2 eggs
2 C soft bread, torn in pieces
3/4 C minced onion
2 Tbls horseradish
1 tsp salt
1/4 C milk
1/4 C ketchup
1 Tsp Dijon mustard

Mix eggs, horseradish, salt, milk, ketchup & Dijon mustard in bowl. Break up ground chuck in a big bowl. Add egg mixture, onion & bread crumbs. Mix well. Shape into 2 loaves. Top with ketchup. Sometimes I sprinkle some brown sugar on if I’m feeling adventurous!

Don’t bake your meatloaf in a loaf pan. It just swims in grease! I use one of my cookie cooling racks set on a foil lined cookie sheet. That way the grease drips away (no messy clean up either)

Cut in half & check for doneness. Let rest for about 10 min. I guess it’s tired

Enjoy!

20131009-201637.jpg

Leave a Reply

